Actually it might be related to this, the issue I'm having.

I occasionally store temporary files to the desktop e.g. exported an image from Lightroom and want to upload it to say Facebook or my Skydrive.  Anyway I do so, then delete the file, clean out the recycle bin.

A few days later do the same, the original file is still there according the to file browser in IE when selecting a file to upload, I can still open it too, yet look on the desktop it's not there.  Did I delete the file or didn't I, or did Windows Vista just pretend to delete the file for me?