I can say that Vista is not another ME. Windows ME was complete junk.

VISTA has its problems, however, people are missing some of the greatest changes in VISTA. And they would be security based changes. Especially when it comes to buffer overflow/under run (The number one best way to crash an app and escalate privileges). Viruses love to rewrite memory locations with whatever they want, and Vista does a great job of stopping this too. Spyware is still a problem for VISTA, but out of the box it is much, much more resilient to problems.

I am a certified PC technician from A+, MS, and Cisco. And I work on between 50-100 PCs myself every week. I also have a full time job as a PHP/SQL programmer.

I can say that VISTA as far as features goes does not offer to many things over XP. However, it seems that what people complain about most are compatibility, and performance. I try to explain to my customers that VISTA was created to run on new machines, and machines that will be created within the next couple of years.

Whether you like it or not, when XP was released it ran like hell on older machines. EVERYONE was complaining about how much resources it consumed, especially memory.

As far as compatibility goes, MS has done a great job of releasing drivers for Vista. They added hundreds of thousands of more devices to Vista's driver database since it was released in January.
As an example, I have installed VISTA from the OE Retail disc on several newish computers (computers built after Jan 01). And 9/10 times you don't have to install ANY drivers. The first time I saw this I almost fell over.

AC97 audio is known to cause some problems when audio switches frequencies. This is a very common problem with Nvidia video cards + AC97 audio cards. Newer drivers have helped a lot. To say that they ruined the audio system is untrue. It works completely different than the XP audio subsystem, and in my opinion after some stability improvements in MANUs drivers, it will be awesome.