Charles wrote:
I used to be on the Windows Update team. So, I can assure you that the information exposed to the auto-update process of XP contains no more data than is necessary for successfully updating your system. What makes you think otherwise? User privacy is extremely important to Microsoft. What are we doing wrong?


Anyone else note that he said "no more data than is necessary" but didn't say they clear it after.. Because if they did clear it after, he would have used that to make his point.

Charles, if you tell me that to the best of your knowledge they DON'T store ANY information taken during the update process I will take you on your word. That DOES include versions of Microsoft products etc.

[Store as in to use for any purpose other than the immediate update. Update tracking DOES count.]