Interesting, look what I found on Facebook today: http://www.msretaillive.com/ - Does someone know more about it?
-
-
As far as what I can tell, it's just retail positions for selling and promoting MS products contracted out by Microsoft.
Basically MS is trying to copy Apple's Genius Bar. -
I hope they don't try too hard. Some of the worst tech support stories I've ever heard come from those guys.La Bomba said:As far as what I can tell, it's just retail positions for selling and promoting MS products contracted out by Microsoft.
Basically MS is trying to copy Apple's Genius Bar. -
When I click the link, Opera gives me a fraud warning that the site has been reported as fraudulent.
-
Whoa, that's scary. Especially considering how easily and willingly people will give up their identity information when looking for employment. Beware identity theft!TommyCarlier said:When I click the link, Opera gives me a fraud warning that the site has been reported as fraudulent.
-
JChung2006 said:
Whoa, that's scary. Especially considering how easily and willingly people will give up their identity information when looking for employment. Beware identity theft!TommyCarlier said:*snip*
I also get several JavaScript errors when opening the application form.
-
-
Question 14:mawcc said:JChung2006 said:*snip*I also get several JavaScript errors when opening the application form.
Do you own any of the following;
So we can rob your house when you are not at home,.. kkthnx byebye
Question 20:
Have you ever been convicted of a felony?
So when we rob your house we don't run into an ex-convict with a gun!
Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: MSWINDOWSGURU.COM
Domain servers in listed order:
NS57.1AND1.COM
NS58.1AND1.COM
****************************************************
See Business Registration Listing
****************************************************
Copy and paste the link below to view additional details:
http://who.godaddy.com/whoischeck.aspx?domain=MSWINDOWSGURU.COM
Doesnt look very legit to me,...
-
Yeah, I don't trust the site either. Like you showed, the domain names are registered by "Domains by Proxy", which is used by people who want to stay anonymous. And this is the first site Opera has ever warned me about being a fraudulent site. It has been actively reported as fraudulent.Maddus Mattus said:
Question 14:mawcc said:*snip*
Do you own any of the following;
So we can rob your house when you are not at home,.. kkthnx byebye
Question 20:
Have you ever been convicted of a felony?
So when we rob your house we don't run into an ex-convict with a gun!
Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: MSWINDOWSGURU.COM
Domain servers in listed order:
NS57.1AND1.COM
NS58.1AND1.COM
****************************************************
See Business Registration Listing
****************************************************
Copy and paste the link below to view additional details:
http://who.godaddy.com/whoischeck.aspx?domain=MSWINDOWSGURU.COM
Doesnt look very legit to me,...
-
I don't trust it either. I just reported it using IE7's phishing filter so MS can take a look at it.TommyCarlier said:
Yeah, I don't trust the site either. Like you showed, the domain names are registered by "Domains by Proxy", which is used by people who want to stay anonymous. And this is the first site Opera has ever warned me about being a fraudulent site. It has been actively reported as fraudulent.Maddus Mattus said:*snip* -
I don't think this is a phishing attempt, since when you go to actually apply for the job, it redirects you to "The Eleven Agency" (jobs.t11a.com), which appears to be a legitimate company despite them being hosted at 1&1 and having private registration.
Also, this company appears to be the creator of the website: http://www.chaione.com/houston_website_design_clients.shtml
The job postings are also scattered all over the different job sites (i.e. HotJobs, CareerBuilder, etc...) -
no its not a bad website, if u read up on many sites they are now placing gurus in best buys and circuit cities. I'm actually going to become one and i used the site to apply, if u go to the eleven agency they market many different companies, not only ms. Anyway i don't think microsoft would let a scam site run for very long especially when they use the ms name like that.
-
To be honest I find your argument a bit dispersuasive - I mean, there's not a drop of punctuation and grammer is awful, and to me you seem like a hired hand used to promote the site rather than a genuine user.dscrizzy said:no its not a bad website, if u read up on many sites they are now placing gurus in best buys and circuit cities. I'm actually going to become one and i used the site to apply, if u go to the eleven agency they market many different companies, not only ms. Anyway i don't think microsoft would let a scam site run for very long especially when they use the ms name like that.
Smells fishy.
-
I need to say, I've read on a couple of blogs "Windows Gurus" was something created by mircosoft. Really, the New York Times mentioned it:Lloyd_Humph said:
To be honest I find your argument a bit dispersuasive - I mean, there's not a drop of punctuation and grammer is awful, and to me you seem like a hired hand used to promote the site rather than a genuine user.dscrizzy said:*snip*
Smells fishy.
http://www.nytimes.com/imagepages/2008/09/06/business/06soft02.ready.html
-
No, I'm not a hired hand I'm just to lazy to fix my punctuation. I was doing some scam hunting on the site when I first applied because it seemed to good to be true, then I found this forum after I received my first response and just wanted to let you guys know it's not fake. I could care less if you guys apply, hell i don't care about ms myself, I just think getting 20 bux an hr is good to just speak to people all day.
Anyway check out this article here. -
I think saying that he might be a "hired hand" is going a bit too far. He's just trying to say that he heard it wasn't a scam from a source he considers to be reliable and therefore wants to contribute to the discussion by explaining this.Lloyd_Humph said:
To be honest I find your argument a bit dispersuasive - I mean, there's not a drop of punctuation and grammer is awful, and to me you seem like a hired hand used to promote the site rather than a genuine user.dscrizzy said:*snip*
Smells fishy.
On the other hand, it would be nice to know just how legitimate this really is. I mean, has anyone actually been hired yet? And is this an initiative by Microsoft, or another company (and if so, why would another company be interested in employing "Windows Gurus" unless they are representing Microsoft and hiring people for them).
-
Well so far I have had one interview where they asked me to demonstrate a piece of technology. They happened to like me and scheduled a 2nd interview with me this coming Thursday where I will have to demonstrate windows live space (a rip off of myspace) and I think demonstrate my product once again in front of MS executives. If you want, I can tell you if I get the job or not and then you will kind of know someone who got hired, allegedly at least lol. Oh yeah and most of your questions are in the article I asked everyone to check out.Jon Monreal said:
I think saying that he might be a "hired hand" is going a bit too far. He's just trying to say that he heard it wasn't a scam from a source he considers to be reliable and therefore wants to contribute to the discussion by explaining this.Lloyd_Humph said:*snip*
On the other hand, it would be nice to know just how legitimate this really is. I mean, has anyone actually been hired yet? And is this an initiative by Microsoft, or another company (and if so, why would another company be interested in employing "Windows Gurus" unless they are representing Microsoft and hiring people for them).
-
Here is your answer....I went and interviewed the Gurus:dscrizzy said:
Well so far I have had one interview where they asked me to demonstrate a piece of technology. They happened to like me and scheduled a 2nd interview with me this coming Thursday where I will have to demonstrate windows live space (a rip off of myspace) and I think demonstrate my product once again in front of MS executives. If you want, I can tell you if I get the job or not and then you will kind of know someone who got hired, allegedly at least lol. Oh yeah and most of your questions are in the article I asked everyone to check out.Jon Monreal said:*snip*
http://www.on10.net/blogs/laura/Meet-the-Windows-Gurus/

Thread Closed
This thread is kinda stale and has been closed but if you'd like to continue the conversation, please create a new thread in our Forums,
or Contact Us and let us know.