, magicalclick wrote

You can right click on the tile and turn off updates. But, it is done manually, no automatic switch when you are in a public network.

Disabling the tiles still fails to disable the background updates performed by Windows for the mail. I still am seeing TCP connections to Windows Live when tile updates are disabled, which contain personally identifiable information that I would not want to send over a public network, as well as a CLEARTEXT view of all my contact's e-mail addresses!