I got a spam from a PC in a microsoft.com domain: http://www.foolsdesign.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=39 , attached screenshot and the IP is "168.62.164.169". No idea where to report it, probably an infected machine.
-
-
There aren't any IE6 / WinXP machines in the Microsoft domain, but if you're really worried, you can always report problems to secure@microsoft.com who will be able to investigate it for you.
Bear in mind that there is a lot of traffic that comes out of the Microsoft allocated IP address range - much of which didn't originate from Microsoft (for example, Hotmail users != Microsoft even though Hotmail = Microsoft. Similarly Windows Azure users != Microsoft even though Windows Azure = Microsoft).
-
28 minutes ago, evildictait​or wrote
There aren't any IE6 / WinXP machines in the Microsoft domain, but if you're really worried, you can always report problems to secure@microsoft.com who will be able to investigate it for you.
abuse@ would be better. secure@ is for reporting security flaws in products.
-
and do not forget that the IP may be spoofed.
-
It's funny because we get a lot of spam from foolsdesign.
-
If you want, I can easily send a FBI.gov spam from a Linux server. After all, most of the free spam sites are using Apaches, they don't want to spend money for this kind of service.
-
14 hours ago, figuerres wrote
and do not forget that the IP may be spoofed.
It's actually pretty hard to spoof an IP address in a TCP connection, because you need to be able to reply to packets sent back to that IP address. It's possible (for example if you've pwned a router), but's really not as trivial as spoofing the "sender" on an email for instance.
-
Add your 2¢