I just started reading this series. I saw the following comment in the "Beginning Game Development" article (first article), and I want to comment about this statement...

As we add more functionally to the game we will continuously do small design sessions to formulate our ideas. This iterative approach to developing software is the best way to create good software, and is more fun at the same time.

I've been a software developer for a long time, albeit not for games. At one point in my career I quit my job and spent three years writing and re-writing a desktop blogging application that I had intended to sell. I "knew" what I wanted to build, but approached the project with the same philosophy as quoted above.

In the end, I had a buggy, kludged-up application that I kept having to release patches for every week, and my app that was supposed to take one month to build and sell to the world for $20 a pop turned out taking me three years, having half of the intended features, and for a price of $10 before I ended up making it freeware.

Windows 95 followed the exact same philosophy, too, and we all know how that went. The Windows 95/98/ME series was a hodgepodge of bubblegum, rubber bands, and duct tape, wrapped in a colorful marketing package. It took Microsoft years of carefully planning out a proper system at the drawing board to reengineer Windows for the new (at the time) NT platform. NT was only successful, though, because of proper advanced planning.