SkyDrive will download the contents of SkyDrive to the new PC.

The only way this will happen is if you actually delete something, the PC fauling up won't do this.  Obviously its something to be concerned about - accidentally deleting something, and having the delete command spread.  But that's what the Recycle Bin is for - and backups.