Posted By: LaBomba | May 6th, 2007 @ 11:58 PM
page 1 of 1
Comments: 6 | Views: 5000
LaBomba
LaBomba
Summer
Being part of IE7 Beta testing I almost clicked the link without thinking much of why it was coming from admin@microsoft.com ..until I noticed where it was leading to...

 Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Thanks Hotmail Live Mail...whatever happened to that "SenderId" feature you broadly touted...? Expressionless
In fact when you still see it says "download now... beta 2" you should have alerted... IE7 has been out for months already. Tongue Out

Btw, is there a way to configure Exchange/Outlook/<whatever email server/client> to "display alert" containing links from a domain that's different from the email address / originated email server?

Jason Cox
Jason Cox
Longtime C9 Lurker

Yeah, this one almost fooled me as well, my mind saw the subject as 'Internet Explorer Beta' and didnt register the 7 in the excitment that this was an IE8 beta invite. Then I saw the sender's supossed email address and realized Microsoft never sends email from that address. Then I actually turned the images on, saw what it was and deleted it.

Nice try malware writters. Now where is my Windows Mail definition update?
Tongue Out

blowdart
blowdart
Peek-a-boo
LaBomba wrote:

Thanks Hotmail Live Mail...whatever happened to that "SenderId" feature you broadly touted...?


It's working.

microsoft.com doesn't publish SPF records.
jsampsonPC
jsampsonPC
SampsonBlog.com SampsonVideos.com
I got this too, but fortunately my email-client shows me only the user email address (in bold), and then in smaller text beneath it the subject of the email. I immediately saw "admin@microsoft.com" and thought, psh, yeah right...

Are the malware-authors really stupid enough to put that as their email address!? I mean, come on, had it been something like "ieblog@microsoft.com" I would have actually opened the email probably, but "admin@microsoft" is laughable.

Not to mention this came to an email address that I don't use publically, nor have I ever used in any MS-related context.
Oops... I also got a few of this email today... Tongue Out

This time come from smtp.hartselleutilities.com.

And did you tried to "view source" of it? It contains some random messages like this...

==

<!Hi there, when I first turn on my computer for the day, it will run fine for
up to 3 minutes or so until I get a complete blue screen with an error
message which reads:
____________________________________________
*** HARDWARE MALFUNCTION
PLEASE CONTACT YOUR HARDWARE VENDOR         (something like this)

*** The sv
____________________________________________

I can not do a CRTL-ALT-DEL reboot or anything....no response to anything
except for a complete hard reboot.  After a reboot my computer will run
perfectly fine and won't see this message again.
I only get the error message when my computer is cold it seems.  But after
running a while, it runs perfectly.

Has anyone had this problem, or can anyone shed some light into this issue
please?

Thank you very much for your help people.
Please respond to group.  Thank you.

==

And then other contents seems like personal emails and newsgroup posts...

stevo_
stevo_
Human after all
I got this the other day in Outlook 2007, the image wasn't there (red x) but I did find it instantly spurious that I was getting a random email from admin@microsoft.com, so I checked the source and noticed all the malformed 'comment like' html in there.

Very odd, must be some kinda 'failsafe' at providing spam in as many rendering scenarios as possible Tongue Out
page 1 of 1
Comments: 6 | Views: 5000
Microsoft Communities