Coffeehouse Thread

16 posts

C# or VB.NET? Which would you use and *why*?

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    phunky_avoc​ado

I am just wondering:  if you were starting a new project from scratch and you had a choice between using C# or VB.NET, which would you choose and why?  Personally, I am not interested in replies like "Well, I was a VB6 programmer and so VB.NET is the natural choice for me" or "I come out of the C/C++ crowd and so C# makes the most sense for me."  I am wondering if there is any technical or software life-cycle, etc., sorts of reasons.  Thanks.

• User profile image
    gabe19

I have given this one some thought over the past couple of years, and I am fairly sure the answers you aren't interested in are the only ones that matter. Especially with the 1.1 improvements to vb.net, flavor is the choice.

For the record, I am a former VB 6 programmer who was tired of that lazy syntax and so craved the C like structure of C#.

• User profile image
    Akaina

They took off the training wheels in VB with VB.NET, so all things being equal I'de rather have C# on my resume.

• User profile image
    irascian

I was a VB programmer and switched to C# when .Net first launched. The reasons why were much clearer then:

1. C# had XML documentation - VB.Net didn't

2. We had two centres of excellence: one for J2EE, one for Microsoft and programmers tended to be VB OR JAVA programmers - never the twain would meet. We saw C# as being a way, at least in theory, of making programmers more able to move to where the work was needed, ie to move between the two worlds of Microsoft and Open Source J2EE - a move I still think Microsoft cottoned on to late in the game when suddenly they started telling us VB.Net was the way we should be going to avoid too many previously loyal developers "jumping ship" to the J2EE world via C#.