Coffeehouse Thread

6 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Vista build at PDC..

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    Defcon

I need some info on the build of Vista which will be given out at PDC. Basically, I want to install Vista + VS 2005 on my laptop and of course I want the latest versions Smiley

- will we get the dvd's as part of the packet on day 1? The plan is to format and install a fresh copy on day 1, hopefully during the keynote. Or should I get my dvd of beta 1 with me?

- are there any gotchas in using Vista as a primary dev environment. Does VS2k5 install on it? Any problems with WiFi?

I've been holding out till pdc to try out Vista, as my efforts to run it in Vmware were less than succesful.

• User profile image
    bonk

*sigh*

A laptop for the PDC would be very cool...

• User profile image
    irascian

I have no inside knowledge but if my experience of TechEd is anything to go by any CD/DVD will be produced "very close to the wire" and given out on the last day (in return for filling out evaluation forms). 

Sometimes things are so "close to the wire" that if some fundamental error has been made that isn't spotted until the last day of the event then there may instead be a promise that replacements will be sent instead (which arrive a few weeks after they're on MSDN downloads).