Coffeehouse Thread

4 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Question for the more experienced VB vs C#

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    Sam_the_​Gardener

As a new career, I have started making a living with computers.  I think of myself as a computer user who programs to get work done and not a programmer per se.

My interest and work is basic Web Programming.  Make it work, and especially make it look good.  No interest in rocket science computing here.

I started learning on Perl (actually, I used to know Pascal, Commodore 64 assembler and such many moons ago and started back up 2 or so years ago).  I know Perl better than any language, and like it.  But I lately have shifted to PHP because it does most things I want and is alot easier to keep straight than Perl.

I know enough mySQL and Apache stuff to keep the ball rolling, no more, no less.  I am far more familliar with how Linux works than Windows.  However, you would pry my Linux or Windows from my cold dead fingers, as the saying goes.  They both are awesome systems in my eyes.

I know ActionScript and love it. The FlashCom server is a favorite. 

For now, I would like to be able to write little Windows programs to automate file uploads, hook up to peoples Excel/Access, a little FTP, etc. 

Also, I want to learn ASP.NET.

I looked over VB and C#.  I wanted to pick one and only one.  Both look doable, I was leaning towards C#.  I would value easy and quick to write most.  But, I was thinking maybe C# would leave more room to expand in the future.

I would greatly appreciate some advice from people experienced in both languages.

• User profile image
    phunky_avoc​ado