Coffeehouse Thread

13 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

News Aggregators that have 'Toast Pop-Ups'

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    dnrfan

I've never used an aggregator before.  I thought it would be cool to have a little box on your desktop that alerted you to something you subscribed to, but all I find are things that look like email clients.

Is there such an aggregator that does the following?.......

One that pops up a toast message - much like MSN Messenger - when something new has happened.

Scenario:  Your waiting for a reply on a forum, or waiting to hear of any new posts on a forum.  Your working away and 'pop' a toast pop-up appears and lets me know that someone has posted something new.  Or say, scoble has another video posted up on channel 9.

Anyone know of such an agg'?

• User profile image
    Sven Groot

RSS Bandit will do just that. You can configure the popups per feed, even.

• User profile image
    TommyCarlier

Opera's built in aggregator does this. When there are new posts, you get a toast popup, but it's not as aggressive as MSN Messenger popups.

• User profile image
    MisterDonut

I believe SharpReader does that as well, and its free.

• User profile image
    dnrfan

Cheers ALL !! Cool

MUCH appreciated.

BTW: SharpReader website is down.

www.sharpreader.net

• User profile image
    MisterDonut

I"m able to get on: 11:18 EST.

• User profile image
    draza

dnrfan wrote:
    One that pops up a toast message - much like MSN Messenger - when something new has happened.

Scenario:  Your waiting for a reply on a forum, or waiting to hear of any new posts on a forum.  Your working away and 'pop' a toast pop-up appears and lets me know that someone has posted something new.  Or say, scoble has another video posted up on channel 9.
    Anyone know of such an agg'?