Coffeehouse Thread

20 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

VS.NET 2005 - questions, questions, questions

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    phreaks

Hi everyone,

I don't want to be the party pooper (where did that phrase originate from anyway, I bet there is a good story behind that), but is anyone else experiencing extreme difficulties in house breaking VS.NET 2005?

I love the features of the .NET 2.0 framework, but VS.NET is behaving waywardly and not playing very nice with said features.

When I first start VS.NET it consumes upwards of 45% of my CPU and over 200 Mb of memory. (figure 1):

figure 1

It should also be noted that this solution is fairly small, consisting of 3 small C# project's.  Also, I am primarily a Middleware developer, and this is a WinForms solution, so maybe I am just not used to the overhead of VS loading all the visual controls.

Once the solution is entirely loaded in VS (Average time is about 3 or 4 minutes), the devenv.exe memory remains consistent at around 350 Mb, which seems rather high to me as that is over 33% of available memory for me.

Anytime I need to switch to a visual designer view and add or edit a control, I have to wait an additional 2 to 4 minutes for the designer to refresh.

All in All I feel as though I am wasting ALOT of time that I need to be able to account for (plus the added frustration of twiddling my thumbs while I wait for a tool to initialize)

Are other people experiencing similar issues and are there any tweaks that can be done to improve the performance of VS 2005?

If you have any tidbit of info that might help speed me up even a little, please reply.

[C]

• User profile image
    Sven Groot

Hmm, I experience occasional delays in VS2005, but nothing too bad. Definitely not so severe.