Coffeehouse Thread

14 posts

Scientigo owns the patent to XML ?!?

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    phreaks

http://www.scientigo.com/innovation/

Scientigo.com wrote:
    In addition, Scientigo™ owns patents that address a set of key technical protocols, referred to as XML.(Extensible Mark-up Language), a popular standard used to support the exchange of data over the Internet. These protocols are embedded in software developed by large and small companies, including, for example Microsoft and IBM. Scientigo™ has retained and formed an exceptional intellectual property team that has implemented a comprehensive intellectual property strategy and will assist to secure additional intellectual property protection on its other inventions.

Patents

# 5,842,213
    # 6,393,426
    # 6,516,320
    # 6,370,534

Pending Patents

Topification

Are these people serious?

• User profile image
    billh

I'm no patent lawyer, but I'll play one on Channel 9. Wink

Check out the dates of these patents (in order as you listed them)...

November 24, 1998
    May 21, 2002
    February 4, 2003
    April 9, 2002

Over on Wikipedia, here is a snippet of history of XML:

Wikipedia wrote:
    The XML Working Group never met face-to-face; the design was accomplished using a combination of email and weekly teleconferences. The major design decisions were reached in twenty weeks of intense work between July and November of 1996. Further design work continued through 1997, and XML 1.0 became a W3C Recommendation on February 10, 1998 .
    From the fine folks at Scientaco (their first patent):

Scientaco wrote:
    Method for modeling, storing, and transferring data in neutral form. The present invention simplifies the data modeling process and simplifies its full dynamic versioning by employing a non-hierarchical, non-integrated structure to the organization of information.