Coffeehouse Thread

26 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Learning VB.NET

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    SlackmasterK

<BackgroundInfo>
    So, as some of you may know, I've been dealing with a (healthcare company of 1000 people in 3 states) for a month or two, getting lined up for a job as a Web Admin / IntraWeb Admin / PC Tech.  Unfortunately, the Web Admin / IntraWeb Admin who would be above me (but thankfully 1500-2000 miles away) is a VB coder; and from what I've heard, a shoddy one at that.  I'm a C# coder.

I started programming in GWBasic back in the 80's, and moved up through QBasic and Pascal in school, finally settling on C# only recently.  I've also been learning ASP.NET 2.0, and the more of it I learn, the more I love .NET! </BackgroundInfo>

My question to the more experienced folks here is, how hard is it for someone who knows C#, ASP.NET 2.0, and very old forms of BASIC to learn VB.NET? From what I'm hearing, I'll be hired tomorrow and starting Monday. If it's just different syntax and a few different namespaces I don't see a problem.

• User profile image
    Ang3lFir3

From the perspective of a VB.net dev with a little Java background I find that I can easily read C# for the most part (couple little shorthand syntax things that trip me up sometimes)...... So i really don't think it will be any trouble for you at all as soon as you get a handle on the syntax differences....

Though other than for the sake of the "Web Admin / IntraWeb Admin" you will be working under I don't see a reason why you couldn't continue to write code in C# for the most part....

Good luck and just remember VB is long winded is all (ok there are more differences than that) Tongue Out

• User profile image
    Larsenal

You should have no problems.

• User profile image
    spoofnozzle

If you are already C# and .Net fluent...