Coffeehouse Thread

14 posts

Need a Final Year Project Idea

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    Londoner

I’m a student of a computer science degree as well as a developer at one of the investment banks (101% .NET)

I was hoping if you guys could help me come up with an idea for my final year project, which I hope to do in VS2005 (to get some experience with new stuff before my employer adopts it)  
    I've gone through the list of possible project suggestion on my uni website but all of them are either highly academic or involve a lot of "blah blah blah".
    Neither can I take something from work since it would be hard to isolate stuff I’m working on (trading and analytical systems) into a single project.  

Please save me from doing yet another chat app, ftp server, p2p client etc…    

• User profile image
    Manip

You've just given us a completely open book.. why not tell us some of the ideas they have rejected and why, and some of your peer's projects. Also if you have a project spec and such that would be helpful.

• User profile image
    chuawenching

Hi there,

I don't think it is wise for you to use vs2005 until the official release.

Using a beta software won't help you to score.

Smiley

• User profile image
    Londoner

Manip wrote:
    You've just given us a completely open book

Sorry about that, it's because so far I’ve failed to come up with even a single idea, or may be I’m being extremely picky, but I have to be, since it is something I would have to be working on for the next 8 months.

Manip wrote:
    some of your peer's projects

Friend of mine would be working on mp3 repository and classification system (ASP.NET + SQL2005)

• User profile image
    Londoner

Hopefully by the time I finish we’ll have a release or at least a RC (at the place where i work we've used .NET in  production since Beta2)

Smiley
  • User profile image
    Manip

Suggestions:

BitTorrent Client
    Mail Server
    Rendering Engine