Coffeehouse Thread

15 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Anyone used the new DevExpress Ribbon Control?

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    phreaks

I started playing with the DevExpress Ribbon control this morning, and it works pretty well, except for one major issue...

It doesn't support scrolling GroupItems...

How can you have a Ribbon that doesn't scroll?

I MUST be missing something here, but I have been all through the documentation, and their Support Site; can't find a darn thing on scrolling.

Has anyone used this control that can tell me whether it does support scrolling groups or not? I did leave a message on their customer support site, but generally their turn-around is 24 hours.

If it doesn't support scrolling items, should it really be called a Ribbon? seeems like it would just be a souped up tab control to me.

Edit: here's a link.
    http://www.devexpress.com/Help/?document=XtraBars

Dev Express Website wrote:

The Ribbon is the state-of-the-art user interface, introduced in Microsoft Office 2007.

But the Outlook 2007 Scrolls!

• User profile image
    W3bbo

jaylittle wrote:
    We use a lot of DevExpress controls for our .NET winform applications here at work and god do they suck.  The controls are set up in a totally non-standard fashion, have custom GUIs for configuring them and don't bother to conform to any standard of control interaction that MS seems to follow.

Hopefully Microsoft will be providing it's own ribbon control in Orcas or something.

Their website is terrible, and they're dogfooding their own Webcontrols.

Yegads! Stay well away!

• User profile image
    phreaks

W3bbo wrote: