Coffeehouse Thread

26 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

VB.Net vs C#.Net

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    Zen724

I'm a newbie programmer of 4 yrs... Not just starting but pretty young compared to the company here. I started with VB 6 and have been woking with VB.net and ASP.net for about a year. I'm thinking about learning C#.Net simply because I see more jobs that are requesting the C# skill set.

Can anyone provide me with a recomendation as to whether  I should stick with VB.net for a while longer or go ahead and take the plunge into C#?

Thanks in advance,

• User profile image
    miies

Why not do both? I'm diving into C# myself at the moment, but as long as I'm not really experienced in it, I still code VB.NET for a living.

• User profile image
    Sampy

Good answer!

Also, don't fall into the "C# is for real programming and VB isn't" mentality. I work on Visual Studio and 90% of the work I do in managed code is in VB.

I mean Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll is written in VB! You'd be surprised how many VS components are...

• User profile image
    Deactivated User

Comment removed at user's request.

• User profile image
    James Steele

Why not learn both? Learning the constructs and syntax of either VB.NET or C# is not such a grand undertaking.

I think the the challenge with .NET lies in:

- coming to grips with the .NET Foundation Class Library (FCL).
    - learning about the CLR
    - learning about deployment strategies
    - learning about applying design patterns to .NET apps using the right classes from the FCL
    - learning about security in .NET
    - web services
    - and the list goes on...

If you have been using VB.NET for a year already, then I think you will find picking up on C# fairly academic.

Here is a good starting point:

Go for it! C# Language Specification

James

• User profile image
    yag