Coffeehouse Thread

8 posts

Mark Shuttleworth - Duh!

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    Cybermagell​an

http://www.markshuttleworth.com/archives/63

Though I am glad to see him publically saying it....

"If we want the world to embrace free software, we have to make it beautiful. I’m not talking about inner beauty, not elegance, not ideological purity… pure, unadulterated, raw, visceral, lustful, shallow, skin deep beauty.

We have to make it gorgeous. We have to make it easy on the eye. We have to make it take your friend’s breath away."

Grrr, Linux, beautiful = YAY...not as easy as Windows/OSX = Boo!

• User profile image
    Devils​Rejection

i make an effort to try out linux atleast once (more often than not twice) a year.

i've been doing this since about the year 2000.

ubuntu is the best thing that has ever happened to linux, and it's close to catching up to XP in terms of UI and usability, but sadly vista is going to raise that bar once again to stupid high levels.

we will see what happens!

• User profile image
    Cybermagell​an

DevilsRejection wrote:
     but sadly vista is going to raise that bar once again to stupid high levels.

we will see what happens!

ROFL...um, yeah...stupid like.

• User profile image
    fdisk

Oh come on. It's not like Microsoft has a monopoly on ideas. Innovate!

• User profile image
    Erisan

Cybermagellan wrote:

There has been problems in art designing and that's not secret. There has been great contributions but not still "good enough". In Edgy I like only GDM theme, which is pretty nice IMHO. They have hired some OpenGL guys to develop new effects so interesting to see how Edgy+2 looks like...

"not as easy as Windows/OSX"... hmmh I don't know. I think it's easier use than Windows, but maybe I have used it too long time. My parents or sisters has haven't any problems either, unlike with XP, so maybe I can say "it depends" or something... Smiley

• User profile image
    Cybermagell​an