Coffeehouse Thread

24 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Taking Resumes to the next level with Microsoft Word

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    Keli

Hi members,

I am a high school teacher. I have been developing an exercise with my students where they try to develop a CV ( Resume ) fit for the Electronic age.

I usually start off by giving them a sample of what resumes were in my "day" when most were printed off and posted to prospective employers:-)...I am 35 years old.  And then I try to get them to think about what additional features might be incorporated in 21st century resume that lives and is consumed in cyber-space and therefore is probably less likely to be printed.

So the obvious differences would be to try and include
    (1) Some multimedia
    (2) Alternative ways of contact ( email and blogs ...etc)
    (3) Hyperlinks as references to supporting information.
    (4) Tooltip or expanded descriptions

As the students explore different layouts strategies and incorporate these added features - the obvious question is how successful has 
    each feature been after they have launched their resumes into cyber space.

Electronic Briefcase technology allows users to understand/track the modified differences between the main file and its "briefcased" orphan - is it possible that something similar exists for understanding how a resume document was used by its recipients.

Yours truly,

Keli 

PS If anyone knows a guy called paintedblue and how I could get in touch with him that would be great ... my email is keli_mutiso@hotmail.com.

Thanks again

• User profile image
    littleguru

If I would hire somebody, I would ask for a hand written resume... That's real work! Printing a digital something is easy. But writing is more work - and only people who want to work for my (fictional) company are going to write something on a paper.