Coffeehouse Thread

42 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Programming: Any suggestions on how to start out?

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    Lloyd_Humph

Any ideas which programming language would be good for a begginer? Perplexed

Im 13, and frankly everyone has to start somewhere. This time im going for the soft option! I learned HTML 4 simply from reading it and it took me twice as long as it wouldve if idve asked for help, so... You live and learn i suppose.

Thanks.

If Blackberrys are addictive cellphones, Channel9 is the ultimate addictive website.
    Last modified
  • User profile image
    Secret​Software

vb

• User profile image
    jason818_25​3.33

SecretSoftware wrote:
    vb

vb- why? elaborate please. and keep it simple, im a newb. Smiley

• User profile image
    Ion Todirel

Pascal Cool

• User profile image
    Larsenal

There are a number of languages suitable for learning programming.  Download any one of the Vsual Studio Express tools for a relatively easy entry into the world of programming.  You can have lots of fun with simple windows apps and (better yet) console apps.

You can find these tools at http://msdn.microsoft.com/vstudio/express/

• User profile image
    CSMR

Disclaimer: I am far from being an expert.

From what I've read Python and Ruby should be good choices because the learning curve is not steep. You can also program in various styles (OO, functional) so once you have learned about programming you can write in the way that suits you. But at the moment they are not well suppored .NET languages so you miss out on those libraries.

With C# you have great development software, but there is quite a lot to learn at the beginning. For example, you have to know about classes, static objects and functions even to write a program that does nothing.

• User profile image
    Angus