Coffeehouse Thread

44 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Not For Resale

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    shuff1203

The VISTA Business DVD that MS is giving away from the Power Together web site says "Not For Resale".  They have shut down my ebay auction on this item.  I'm not a lawyer, but if it was given away it was never sold - so I'm not "RE" selling it am I? 

I understand what I'm selling is a license, but I think software people have gone crazy with some interpretations of things.  I'm selling a license of Vista that was given to me. 

• User profile image
    littleguru

Take it as Microsoft has sold it to you for 0 $

• User profile image
    webmonkey

shuff1203 wrote:
    The VISTA Business DVD that MS is giving away from the Power Together web site says "Not For Resale".  They have shut down my ebay auction on this item.  I'm not a lawyer, but if it was given away it was never sold - so I'm not "RE" selling it am I? 

I understand what I'm selling is a license, but I think software people have gone crazy with some interpretations of things.  I'm selling a license of Vista that was given to me. 

You're kidding right ?

You think they're crazy, when you are trying to play with words to make it sound like you're allowed to profit out of a free giveaway.

You've stopped someone that did want it from getting it, and Microsoft want to make sure you can't profit out of that.

• User profile image
    shuff1203

People profit from free give aways all the time.

If someone wants to purchase something you've been given then have at it.

All I'm saying is just because someone says "Not For Resale" doens't mean that's the end of the story.