Coffeehouse Thread

40 posts

Math or CS?

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • W3bbo

In a few weeks time AS students in the UK (myself included[1]) will be making our UCAS applications (woo and yay).

Now my universities of choice have an interesting offer going on. If you're doing Further Maths, you can get ABB to do a Mathematics degree, otherwise you have to get AAB like everyone else.

Since I'm doing Further Maths, I can get into my current university of choice, Manchester, with ABB; or I can do Computer Science (they want AAB for CS).

I'm finding Maths more interesting now that I'm beginning to understand it better, ...but I don't fancy getting a job as a mathematician, I want to be a Researcher in HCI (but I don't have any Psychology qualifications).

...plus CS degrees seem devalued recently, it seems more about "how to program" than the actual science of compution (which should be 100% maths), there seems a lot of overlap between Software Engineering and Computer Science (interestingly Software Eng. has higher entry requirements, but I guess it's because it's MEng whereas CS is a BSc)

So if you're an employer, would you prefer a (talented) programmer with a Mathematics degree or a Computer Science degree?

[1]"What?! 18 *and* an AS student? How?" I hear you say. Well, truth be told I screwed up the first time round so I'm redoing my two AS/A2 years. I'll be 20 by the time I start university, but I'm at no disadvantage compared to people who take 2-year gap-leaves.

• TimP

If you don't want to be a mathematican or do math research, then I would probably recommend against taking the math degree.