Coffeehouse Thread

25 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Has anyone worked on profitable software before?

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    Korbin

I know this seems like a very strange question. However, i have been a developer for 8 years and have been doing .NET for the last 5 years.

With that being said, EVERY product I have ever worked on has been a complete failure. They were projects that either got cancelled and I managed to jump off the ship before it sank or I left the company because they said they were going to .NET and they were nothing but empty promises (only to find out later that the projects got cancelled anyway).

If there is anyone that has been in this field for longer than 8 years I would love to hear what software practices (TDD, design by contract, good QA practices, anything..) your company did to ensure that the product was successful at making money for your company. I do believe that there are companies that are successful at making software, I just haven't seen it yet.

• User profile image
    littleguru

Surround with skilled and talented people... That helps already a lot and that also what I got from working so far. People are key.

• User profile image
    Korbin

littleguru wrote:
    Surround with skilled and talented people... That helps already a lot and that also what I got from working so far. People are key.

It's been my experience that management seems to destroy the software projects that I have worked on so far. And that includes sales teams that "insist" certain features are implemented despite how much it could destablize the product.

I'm wondering how successful products deal with management that does things like try to develope software with NO quality assurance team, or management that insist certain features are added even if the software isn't designed to accomodate them, etc.

• User profile image