Coffeehouse Thread

6 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Importance of Multi-Core Processors in Servers

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    Secret​Software

This YouTube Video shows the importance and the evolution of hardware in the server platform.

As you can see the power of big server farms is being pushed down to the desktops and laptops that ordinary users use.

Every day we hear about new advancement in the hardware world, but not much in the software world, and how software is going to take advantage of the revolutionary and evolutionary changes that are happening at the hardware level.

The physical limitations that programmers faced before are lifting, and now imagination is the limit.

I am very excited about multi-core and possibilities they present in terms of performance and efficiency. It brings flashbacks of when I started programming. Very exciting.

I am really looking to see how MS will adapt and how new programming paradigms will have to come into play. Transactions are cool, but we truly need a new way of writing per formant multi-threaded applications that can take advantage of all this processing power.

New gaming experience, new work experience, new way of thinking about stuff. Wink

How will C++ evolve? How will C#/Vb.net evolve?

I guess we have to get used to a bit of runtime logic randomization.

• User profile image
    JohnAskew

Take a look at Windows Workflow Foundation and note how each workflow runs on a seperate thread from 'main'.

Asynchronous method invocation also makes use of threading.

Threading on multi-core processors is the objective and MS is providing lots of resources to this end, imho.

• User profile image
    Secret​Software

JohnAskew wrote:
    Take a look at Windows Workflow Foundation and note how each workflow runs on a seperate thread from 'main'.