Coffeehouse Thread

37 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

ASP, PHP, MySQL

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    the-​laughing-man

So I just finished college for the Summer and after 24hrs without Jack Daniels and friends I am bored out of my mind.

I'm trying to work on a few ideas for web sites and I'm gonna have to learn some new tricks to do it, I can do XHMTL/CSS with no problems.

I started reading up on PHP vs ASP for an assignment at college the other week and I'm swaying more towards PHP at the moment. I have a webhost and but I'm wondering if there's any way I can make a site on my machine first so I can test it quicker than uploading and editing all the time?

Are there any sites/books/anything you can recommend in terms of learning this kind of stuff for a total newbie?

• User profile image
    ewschone

There are a truckload of php / mysql tutorials on the web. Just do some searching and I am sure you'll find some that fit your level of knowledge at the moment.

As far as testing things out before you upload things to your site, you can run a webserver and php / mysql locally on your own pc and see if things work the way you want before uploading. Only thing you probably need to change after uploading is the connect string to the mysql database. Thats why those are usually kept in a seperate config file.

Hope this helps Wink.

• User profile image
    the-​laughing-man

damn good start! I've been looking at the w3schools stuff at the moment but as long as I can work from my machine I should be able to rip some holes in the rest of it!

Any reason I should move towards ASP or PHP?

• User profile image
    W3bbo

the-laughing-man wrote:

ASP is dead, long dead and useless.