Coffeehouse Thread

14 posts

How Did You End Up in Tech?

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    Cornelius Ellsonpeter

I'm wondering how people got their first "tech" jobs...was it through an online job board, a friend, a reference, etc. ? And...what was that first job?

• User profile image
    JohnAskew

Went back to University and before graduating with CISC bachelor's and minor in Math, I was working writing custom software for local area business at a foolishly ridiculous cheap rate.

I ran the lab at University and Mom & Pop businesses called frequently for quick-n-dirty software, and absurdly cheap, so they call students. I had the Dept. forward those calls to the lab and I worked them over...

• User profile image
    wkempf

I graduated in '92, in Nebraska.  Bad economy, coupled with there being few technical jobs available in the region any way meant it took a long time to find something.  When I did, it was working for a grain mill.  So 70% of my job was non-computer related.  I hated that job, but put up with it for about 2 years.  Then a head hunter contacted me at work with a position writing software to track credit card fraud.  Much better.

• User profile image
    SlackmasterK

my buddy ixdatul got me a low-end job as IT Help Desk... which grew into a dev position since that company doesn't know how to hire a developer directly...

... Then my buddy ixdatul got me a high-end job as a Sr Applications Developer...

• User profile image
    PaoloM

Does selling resistors/capacitors and transistors at a store counts? Smiley

• User profile image
    Dr Herbie

My Masters degree was a crossover into Comp Sci, Maths & Stats from Biology.  My Masters project was a Windows 3.1 app written in C++ that interfaced to an oscilloscope through the serial port.