Coffeehouse Thread

49 posts

How often do you change your desktop?

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    Lloyd_Humph

In any way.

Wallpapers, icon arrangements...

I do mine every week - updating the wallpaper and pruning off stuff I've saved to the desktop.

I ask weird questions Tongue Out

If Blackberrys are addictive cellphones, Channel9 is the ultimate addictive website.
    Last modified
  • User profile image
    jamie

i work - filling it up with icons and folders until  i can no longer see the desktop... then i clean it all up - and have default luna blue

• User profile image
    GoddersUK

errr... when I find a new desktop I like or am bored enough to make my own.

Icons/files?

I have a folder on my desktop called files. I just drop 'em in there.

• User profile image
    Angus

When I need to.

This is very rare. I like to use the "desk" analogy for my desktop space. I have no background (I run Ubuntu, and just use the default [in Windows, I just have a solid colour]) as I do not think that having a desktop background has a point. I have a piece of software to view images, I do not need to view them on my desktop.

I have some icons on the desktop (only files, etc. that I have to access enough for them to warrant the valuable space upon my desktop [they are moved after a while]).

For icons I might change the desktop every few days or weeks due to new work coming up, or needing to store files for transfer in a semi-permanent place.

It is not important for me to change the theme unless I believe that the theme I am using is causing me problems, or is causing my computer to run overly slowly.

I find it odd that people have background images, and often I find that themes people use are not great as well. It is no problem for me. I simply use a very basic looking desktop as I have no need for anything other than that.

Angus Higgins

• User profile image
    esoteric