Coffeehouse Thread

24 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Relational Database Principles (lilguru & w3bbo)

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    Cybermagell​an

Are there any good reading materials to learn the principles of Relational Databases?

I want to write a service, and I know enough about SQL to get things in, get things out, move them around, etc....it's just the principle of linking two entities into a single node and being able to remove that link of posssible I'm kinda skipping out on.

• User profile image
    PaoloM

Cybermagellan wrote:
    it's just the principle of linking two entities into a single node and being able to remove that link of posssible I'm kinda skipping out on.

Wha? Smiley

I was a data analyst in my previous life, gimme an example so we can throttle it to 4th normal form Smiley

• User profile image
    Bas

PaoloM wrote:
    4th normal form

When I was in school too many years ago, we were being taught about the Boyce-Codd normal form in Relational Database classes. It took me about three years to finally see it written down somewhere and realise that it wasn't called the 'Boy Scott' normal form.

• User profile image
    Cybermagell​an

PaoloM wrote:

Cybermagellan wrote:
    it's just the principle of linking two entities into a single node and being able to remove that link of posssible I'm kinda skipping out on.

Wha?

I was a data analyst in my previous life, gimme an example so we can throttle it to 4th normal form

Um, a coworker figured it out for me.

• User profile image
    Minh

PaoloM wrote:

Cybermagellan wrote:

Wha?

I was a data analyst in my previous life, gimme an example so we can throttle it to 4th normal form

I know how to make a 4th normal form:

1) Split the data into tabular tables that make sense.

2) Split the lowest tables again to where it makes no sense.

ex:

Products:
    ProductID
    Price