Coffeehouse Thread

24 posts

Leopard 10.5

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    xporvista

Well, just wanted to see what the deal was with Macs, as I have never used one before. So I thought I would compare Vista to 10.5. I case you were wondering, a buddy of mine works in the beta team for Apple, which is final now. Anyways, I really like the Mac for the time I spent on it. Vista is definitely similar, but seems to lack that visual quality that the Mac has. The fit and finish of a Mac is much more uniform. Vista's UI is all over the place, as far as icons from 95 and some new ones that are just OK.

I think the original longhorn would be very similar to Leopard, but I think as far as usability, Leopard has it. I really, really hope Blackcomb/Vienna goes above and beyond peoples expectations.

I know that an OS isn't about the fancy animations and transitions, but it does help sell the product. It just appears there is a lack of graphics in Vista that make it seem new, as apposed to the icons used in XP.

I saw some of the icons that were being developed for Vista and they were tons better, in fact it seems that the concepts there are totally possible get replaced with crap. Why doesn't Microsoft visually clean up Vista with SP1 and make it more usable. I will admit it has it advantages over XP in some areas, but some functionality was definitely taken out.

There is my venting for today...

• User profile image
    stevo_

Talking of spack osx, how is it possible for a company to announce:

"Leopard is the world’s most advanced operating system."

Do they have to provide some some of analysis to prove it? or is it just a blank meaningless statement designed to 'wow' (irony intended) their followers?

• User profile image
    PaoloM

stevo_ wrote:
    Talking of spack osx, how is it possible for a company to announce:

"Leopard is the world’s most advanced operating system."

They always do Smiley