Coffeehouse Thread

43 posts

Hi, I'm Chris and I am a VB.NET developer !

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    Sabot

Fellow GWB member, Chris Williams has posted a very frank critique of what it is to be a VB.Net developer today.

http://geekswithblogs.net/cwilliams/archive/2007/10/23/116274.aspx

Why is it that VB is such a maligned language still? It's 100% .Net language these days. Have the C zealots won? Is VB heading for the sunset?

When the trend is now to head towards Dynamic languages, like Ruby with very high levels of abstraction why is VB so villanised when surely this language is the grand-father of this trend?

• User profile image
    harumscarum

I don't know I read this as a rant because XNA doesn't support vb and then sensationalize a bit to make it popular. 

But to keep the discussion I am a consultant so I support whatever is the best fit for the customer. In my experience vb.net is nowhere near heading towards a sunset. I guess I haven't chosen a side so if something doesn't support c# or vb, oh well. The great thing about .net is there are different options to choose from. This is why I am always confused with "VB developers" or “C# developers”. To me you should strive to be a .net developer, so maybe if you are a specific "developer" you should be worried.

• User profile image
    ixdatul

Sabot wrote:
    Fellow GWB member, Chris Williams has posted a very frank critique of what it is to be a VB.Net developer today.

http://geekswithblogs.net/cwilliams/archive/2007/10/23/116274.aspx

Why is it that VB is such a maligned language still? It's 100% .Net language these days. Have the C zealots won? Is VB heading for the sunset?

When the trend is now to head towards Dynamic languages, like Ruby with very high levels of abstraction why is VB so villanised when surely this language is the grand-father of this trend?