Coffeehouse Thread

8 posts

Microsoft and Email

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    richy_roo

I heard from various people Microsoft employees have an email management course as part of their induction.

Is there any MS people who can pass on some tips about 'managing' your inbox?

Thanks

• User profile image
    spod

i have never heard of this initiative but would probably benefit from it.

i have one large pile of mails in my inbox...i typically have around 1000 unread. if they drop below a couple of weeks old i never get to them. people typically email me again if it's important. If something really irritates me, i right hand mouse it to blocked senders list.

This is a very bad way of managing your inbox, but i've been using it for 5 years here so it's certainly a valid option if you're looking for justification Smiley

• User profile image
    stephbu

Funnily enough I did my New Employee Orientation again a year or so ago (pretty funny being told about the company that you've worked 10 years for already - happens when you relocate). 

There is so much stuff they go through that there isn't really time to get coached on etiquette or managing the volume of mail then.  The NEO may have changed - but I doubt it - it's already pretty lengthy.

We do run courses on effective time management however, and I think email catered for by one of those.

We all use Outlook + Exchange Rules in some form or other.  I subscribe to quite a few discussion aliases so managing their noise is critical, some of my strategies include:

Rule to move all items where I'm not directly on the To: line or mail flagged as Hi Pri out into a seperate 'low-pri' inbox.  I regularly read Hi-Pri, and skip Low-Pri if I'm pushed for time.

Colour coding mails in my inbox depending on who sent it.  Yes my boss is RED!  Gives a quick way to scan for important comments.