Coffeehouse Thread

32 posts

Outlook for the whole family.

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    lars

I've been using Outlook for a few years, and now I've managed to convince my wife to give up Eudora and run Outlook too. So now I'm trying to share my calendar and contacts with her. Sound simple enough. Atleast I thought so.

The only way I've found so far is to share a .pst file, but there is no multiuser support for doing that. It seems like the kosher way to go is to run Exchange. But Exchange is not free. Nor is the server OS it requires. And so on. So it suddenly becomes very expensive. And complicated!

Have Microsoft got a strategy for dealing with using Outlook within a family (home use)? I've read that there used to be something called Web folders" in earlier versions but that they are gone in 2003.

/Lars.

• User profile image
    BOFH

If you were using Outlook Express you'd be able to share your contacts easily with Windows Address Book (WAB). Perhaps a more useful option would be tosubscribe to MSN 9; for $9.95 you can add up to 8 (I think) users to the one account, and share your various MSN 9 features cross-accounts with family members.

• User profile image
    lars

I forgot to mention: I've tried a few shareware programs that was supposed to solve the problem. And I don't recommend it. I ended up having to reinstall Outlook 2003.

Thanks for the tip about MSN. I'll check that out.

/Lars.

• User profile image
    sbc

BOFH wrote:
    If you were using Outlook Express you'd be able to share your contacts easily with Windows Address Book (WAB). Perhaps a more useful option would be tosubscribe to MSN 9; for $9.95 you can add up to 8 (I think) users to the one account, and share your various MSN 9 features cross-accounts with family members.

Can't you use Yahoo Calendar as well (free)?

There is something called Mailtraq as well that may work, there is also OpenGroupware (free).