Coffeehouse Thread

9 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

College and Microsoft

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    themaffeo

I've experienced a bunch of different attitudes towards college degrees so far.  Some companies won’t even look at you unless you have one, and others don’t care at all – most however sit somewhere in the middle.

I’m curious how many people at MSFT, and the channel 9 community in general, hold degrees in a technical field (comp sci, engineering, math, etc.)  What about advanced degrees?

• User profile image
    DanCrevier

I have a PhD in biophysics. My first boss at Microsoft dropped out of college after a couple of semesters. It really doesn't matter. It may help you get noticed by recruiters, but once you are into the interview process and certainly once you are a Microsoft employee, the degree itself doesn't matter.

• User profile image
    NeilCo

I'm not a MSFT employee and I don't have a degree. I've never really come across any problems getting work because I don't have a degree. Employers are more interested in what I know and how I apply it.

Then again, I'm unemployed right now Perplexed

• User profile image
    dhavalhirdh​av

I dont have any degree but got lots of work.. I am freelancer and got my own company.. and as well, I am getting work from quite good companies.. so dont think so degrees really count.. if you know enough... Bill Gates - college dropper... and many are there.. Steve Jobs - I think he is also college dropper.. but not sure.

• User profile image
    FluffyDevil​Bunny

I do not have a degree. It all depends on the person. Some need school and some don't. I grew up with an entire family of techies in the 70's and 80's, so I lucked out.