Coffeehouse Thread

9 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Excuse Me, Media Nerds

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    SaraJoRedux

I have never worked with streaming media before. I am hardly an expert, however I have to find a solution and I kind of feel
    like I am groping in the dark.

I will have many many videos that need to be hosted and interchanged onto my webpages. My priority is speed, and a customizable player.

That's it. That's all I know.

I don't know what I should be looking for. I don't know what I should be careful for.

Also, I have found a couple good sites, however, my boss has mentioned some little blips in their feed as major problems. There will always be
    those little blips correct? No service is perfect?

I would really appreciate it if someone could help me with this. Like I said I feel like I'm groping blindly in the dark and my boss is looking for answers I don't
    have.

Thank you!

• User profile image
    Minh

I think the simplest solution is Amazon S3. It requires the least commitment.

S3 is just a HTTP server that is very inexpensive for the little guys. It's $0.10 / gig / month for storage. And $0.10 / gig / month for transfer.

It's got the scalability & power & reputation of an Amazon behind it (even though, it was down a bit yesterday -- who's perfect, right?)

Since it's HTTP, you don't have the functionality of a true streaming server like that of MS or Flash media servers, but players deal very well with skipping ahead even with HTTP servers.

What media are you thinking of hosting? WMV? FLV? MP3?

It's very easy to try to see if it fits your needs. Just sign up for an account (they'll required a credit card). They will give you a credentials that you can use to create "buckets" (their terms for simple folders).

Then start moving your stuff into there & test you your players.