Coffeehouse Thread

5 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Remote Desktop Client/Avalon--how will it work?

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    bluvg

I'm not a developer (I'm in IT... hey, no booing!), but I try to watch communities like this so I can keep on top of the changes that are coming. 

One thing that has proved very, very valuable to our company is the Remote Desktop client in XP Pro.  I'm wondering how that component will be affected by Avalon.  I've read that there will be perhaps three different levels of GUI richness (mmmm... GUI richness), but I'm not sure how all this will play out.  The nice thing about RDC currently is that, for the user, it is exactly what they see at work, with exceptional performance (except if the SMS Remote Control client is installed... but that's another matter...).  But with Longhorn, are they to expect a remote client that differs greatly from the desktop experience?