Coffeehouse Thread

9 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Net Booting - The future?

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    moksha

Hello all,

I am relatively new to Channel 9.

One of the topics that has caught my attention in recent times is "Net Booting". I was wondering if anyone over here has had success with it.

Any pointers/resources would be great.

The way I see it, considering great network speeds in the near future, the need for one to have a hard disks would/could be eliminated.

Hope to hear back from you all.

Vishnu

• User profile image
    trippparks

Booting off the network has been around for awhile. Old X workstations could boot using bootp and tftp.You can install Windows 2000 and above using RIS which uses PXE (basically DHCP and tftp). Sun sells / sold a workstation (SunRay) that booted from the network as well. Even though network bandwidth is increasing, latency isn't decreasing so that will probably be the major factor in adoption of diskless workstations.

• User profile image
    littleguru

They did it also here at university. Somehow they changed to linux since they said it's easier there and they need not to pay the licenses Sad

• User profile image
    sbc

Not good for Microsoft, net booting. No client license fees.

• User profile image
    W3bbo

Wouldn't it just be eaiser to run Citrix or Terminal Services to a load of "dumb clients"? Like it used to be back in the 70's Smiley

Although I would like to see latency reduced in TS... it can get annoying when you're doing it over a 56K

• User profile image
    figuerres

a few things:

I used to do a lot of work over a modem with an older program called Timbuktu and it was very good.

with windows terminal services you can tune the connection to work better with slow links.
    turn off window drag, backgound bitmap and other "eye candy"