Coffeehouse Thread

11 posts

Convincing coldfusion guys

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • TS

Hi Guys,

Came across this site the other day and its very informative!

I am currently developing websites as a hobby with a few friends using coldfusion. Its a great language, very simple and easy to prototype. We recently moved to a mcv framework in coldfusion, called coldbox.

I have recently been interested in getting into asp.net. I was look at the mvc framework and it seems very interesting and powerful. However, my friends are very reluctant to change as they say "they see no benefit changing to asp.net over staying coldfusion".

I was wondering if you guys could tell me, is asp.net more useful for creating web apps/sites and if so, can you help me convice my friends!!!

Thanks.

• magicalclick

I am just getting started as well. But, it is better you become a master before draging everyone else with you. It is not about our opinions if you can't carry out those claim yourself. It is important to let them feel secured that, there is one expert to resolve the issue when something goes bad. When you introduce a new thing, it is your responsibility more than theirs.

Leaving WM on 5/2018 if no apps, no dedicated billboards where I drive, no Store name.
    Last modified
  • Ray7

Well, it could just be that they're right; Coldfusion has just about everything you need right out of the box. It can be extended with Java and with the right frameworks does a fine job of MVC. It's actually hard to pick between them to be honest.

If they're used to doing Coldfusion, not sure what you're hoping to gain by changing.

• TS

Ray7 said:

Well, it could just be that they're right; Coldfusion has just about everything you need right out of the box. It can be extended with Java and with the right frameworks does a fine job of MVC. It's actually hard to pick between them to be honest.

If they're used to doing Coldfusion, not sure what you're hoping to gain by changing.