Coffeehouse Thread

24 posts

UK Developer Jobs

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • Skriker V1.0

Hi All, I currently live in the UK (Glasgow), up until now I've been working in various tech support jobs, Im planning on a career change and wanted to focus on development, can you let me know what your opinions are on the UK Job market for developers?

• W3bbo

Obviously having a CS degree helps a lot because it indicates that the holder is (or is meant to be) strong on the fundamentals, knows about algorithms, and writing good quality correct software, whereas with self-taught developers the employer is taking on an element of risk by hiring someone who can churn out a solution, but would it necessarily be a good one? Then there are real-life problems that can be solved intelligently with elements from graph or set theory that your typical self-taught developer won't have any notion of.

So it really depends on what kind of industry you're thinking of getting into and your current theory base. Writing LoB software that does the usual database/UI stuff doesn't require degree-level understanding of CS and pays well, but things like games programming and high-end financial institution jobs do tend to require the degree (most job ads I see say they prefer Masters holders too).

• Simo

Here's 2p from my perspective (London based and working for financial institutions).

Dev market is fairly healthy with many banks and investment houses making investments in their processes, workflow and organisation (general getting their house back in order). Previous two years-ish saw a lot of investment in the Risk management area, ie shutting the very large barn door after the credit-crunch horse escaped. With the 20/20 hindsight goggles on we had 5+ years of making hay before that, largely working for traders/front-office and whatever their whim of the day was as all the filthy lucre rolled in.