Coffeehouse Thread

15 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Audio! Video! Canvas!

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    blowdart

It's the next IE9 preview!

• User profile image
    Bas

Can't wait for the announcement that Microsoft is dropping Silverlight as a web platform in favor of HTML5.

Sarcasm!

• User profile image
    Bass

Very cool. IE9 is shaping up to be a great release.

• User profile image
    CyberGeek

IE9 has canvas tag support?! SQUEE!

• User profile image
    CKurt

Great progress indeed, shaping up pretty good.

I'm still wondering tough. I'm a developer and i want to use the <video> tagg. How do I encode my video ? .avi .mov .ogg ? And how do I do it (Live Movie Maker?) and how am i sure every HTML5 browser that support <video> can play my video...

• User profile image
    PaoloM

CKurt said:

I'm still wondering tough. I'm a developer and i want to use the <video> tagg. How do I encode my video ? .avi .mov .ogg ? And how do I do it (Live Movie Maker?) and how am i sure every HTML5 browser that support <video> can play my video...

I'm sure you'll get all the info you need from the HTML WG.

</sarcasm>

• User profile image
    PaoloM

Bas said:

Can't wait for the announcement that Microsoft is dropping Silverlight as a web platform in favor of HTML5.

Sarcasm!

Actually, I would not be surprised at all.

We're using Silverlight as a desktop application platform and it's going great. I can see a couple more releases of convergent evolution with WPF and then we'll have a unified declarative platform for application development. Cross platform Smiley

• User profile image
    Sven Groot

CKurt said:

how am i sure every HTML5 browser that support <video> can play my video...

Because not every browser supports the same codecs at present, this is impossible. Ain't standards great?