Coffeehouse Thread

31 posts

Disabled programmers need help finding a code editor

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • ironsides35

Hi everyone,

I'm new to programming, I am also disabled. I broke my neck 18 years ago and am trying to learn programming. It is very difficult to write code when you can't use your hands. I use Dragon NaturallySpeaking 10 preferred to write this, and it is a great tool for the disabled, but it is very limited when it comes to writing code. I've tried using Windows 7 voice recognition in Visual Studio, what a bad idea that was! It doesn't even understand IDE interface and writing any code with it is totally impossible. I heard some genius tried to make an add-on for Visual Studio to enable voice recognition in C. sharp, but I never heard anything else about it. So I was wondering if anyone out there could suggest a code editor that works well with voice recognition or perhaps teach me how to integrate voice-recognition into an editor of my own creation. By the way usually I write code using what's called a mouth stick, and that is just what it sounds like a stick you hold in your mouth. It is a very inefficient and painful way to do anything. So if you could please drop a suggestion or two it would be very appreciated thanks.

Ironsides 35

• davewill

I'd be curious to know the answer to this as well.  I tried to create something for visual studio with the Speech SDK 5 back when it came out but after a few days found that it was looking like a pretty big job for me to tackle on the side.  Since then it seems like client side speech progress has halted.

• W3bbo