Coffeehouse Thread

25 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Why EU Companies Choose Open Source. No. Not Lower Cost.

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    sbc

Why EU Companies Choose Open Source. No. Not Lower Cost.

groklaw article wrote:
    This study by IDC is fascinating. Of course, I would like it, because it confirms something I've been saying for a couple of years now, and it always feels good to be right, rare though it may be in life. What drives European companies to use Open Source isn't lower cost, the study found. It's quality and the ability to change the software at will. I knew the latter was important, which is why I was so opposed to indemnification offerings that forbid changing the software without permission.

Freedom and flexibility are why some choose open source, not price. They can change the software, get someone else to support it and do pretty much what they like (except modify it then pass it off as their own). It prevents the need to build an application from scratch.

As more useful products and libraries are open sourced, more will use them. If someone finds some code that pretty much does what they want it to, they have to contribute back (unless it is under a BSD-Like license). If you want to make money on software, GPL is not an option. Going GPL may cause your product to be released earlier though. People make money by providing support and services. i.e. free (or cheap) product, pay for support; rather than pay for product, free support

IBM gets this, Redhat, Novell and Sun also do, but will Microsoft? Will we get cheap Windows/Office in the future?

• User profile image
    MagusOSY

I assume you can provide evidence that the support subscription model has magically started making money?

• User profile image
    harumscarum

damn $5000 for a study.