Coffeehouse Thread

11 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Should Windows have "root"?

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    W3bbo

Okay... it has "Administrator"

But should the Administrator account have the same rights as SYSTEM but at the same time make "Administrators" the equivalent of "Power Users".

Perhaps the kernel in NT6 should reflect this, and not allow ANY thing or anyone to modify a "safe list" of files unless:

a) It's done by SYSTEM
    b) The program modifying the files is "AuthentiCode signed" and the kernel checks this with some central server
    c) "Longhorn Home Edition"'s "SYSTEM/Administrator" has a GUID-as-a-password assigned by the OEM (to prevent misuse by spywares and overly curious 12 yearolds)

Comments?

• User profile image
    Maurits

Two problems I see with this:

1) It's too hard to get AuthentiCode
    If I'm just starting out as a developer I might not want to pay for a central-server-approved AuthentiCode certificate

2) It's too easy to get AuthentiCode
    What's to stop a hacker from stealing an innocent third party's identity and getting an AuthentiCode certificate under an assumed name?  Sure, once found out, the certificate could be revoked - but the hacker can just rinse and repeat

• User profile image
    Sven Groot

The kernel having to check authenticode signatures would also be a problem with systems not connected to the net.

• User profile image
    msemack

What does this gain you?

All I see is that it will escalate the "arms race" between developers and users.

• User profile image
    AndyC

Absolutely and most definately not. No one account should have "special" powers. root is one of the worst features of Unix based OS (closely followed by the 9-bit permissions system)

What really needs to happen is: