Coffeehouse Thread

34 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Self-Taught Developers and Microsoft

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    jsrfc58

Have any "self-taught" programmers ever made it into Microsoft's ranks?  I don't mean completely self-taught...because real-world work experience is very important also...but I mean software developers without "degrees".

Just curious.

• User profile image
    pikatung

Bill Gates and his chums did Tongue Out

• User profile image
    Shaded

jsrfc58 wrote:

Have any "self-taught" programmers ever made it into Microsoft's ranks?  I don't mean completely self-taught...because real-world work experience is very important also...but I mean software developers without "degrees".

Just curious.

Degrees are over-rated, this is not a new thing.  Look at the Wright Brothers.

• User profile image
    W3bbo

jsrfc58 wrote:
    but I mean software developers without "degrees".

I've got some radians somewhere...

• User profile image
    footballism

Shaded wrote:
    jsrfc58 wrote:

Just curious.

degree is realllllllllllllllllly important in China,there is no exaggeration to say that nearly 50 percent of chinese college students attend college just for the sake of getting degrees.

• User profile image
    Buzza

Yeah, Bill Gates didn't need one, but he had a great idea when the market was in a state that made Microsoft the company it is today.

Back then - most developers / programmers did ALL that work themselves.  It was a lot simpler.

The industry has changed so much since then.  The amount of different areas to cover, these days you have networking, administration, maintainance, graphics, UI, databases, internet, etc.

Now, well the competition is huge, the area's of expertise are vast - a degree is one thing I would do to help me further my career in this industry.