Coffeehouse Thread

16 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Media Centre for regular OEM's

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    jamie

when will we see this?
    apart from laptops - id NEVER buy from a "computer company" and you cant get it without going to a dell or hp etc

* sorry for all the new threads tonight

ps - i got a new dell laptop and it came with "dell media centre" which looks like a direct rip off of media centre xp

why are you holding it back / charging a premium for it?

• User profile image
    eagle

I sent an email to the OEM Channel VP last year about Media Center and he replied within two hours “that’s a good question”. He said he would “escalate” it, but I never heard back from anyone. I’m a System Builder, my machines are far superior to anything Dell, HP or Gateway can mass-produce yet only they can market WindowsXP Media Center.  
               I went to the Intel ICC week before last and they had a set-up a Media Center PC using WindowsXP and third party apps for movies, music and video. It was a nice PC, looking like a stereo amp with a silent fan and a remote control,  guess that's the way we will have to go. 

• User profile image
    Jaz

could XP Embedded not do the same sorta thing?

• User profile image
    miamijjs

With the amount of BS Microsoft takes for holes in the os code I have heard they don't just want to sell the MCE in a retail box due to the odds people would not be able to get it to work on homebrewed media centers. Microsoft didn't want the bad press.

I know many of the "smart" people here could get it to work great I believe they were worried about the more basic users.

I just bought a Dell 4600 for the software and tweeked out the tower from thst point.

The brown Dell MCE 2004 disc will do a clean boot on any Dell computer including laptops.