Coffeehouse Thread

8 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

managed vs unmanaged?

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    footballism

I'm a .net dummy,I've spent about one year learning C#,inner working of CLR, managed code, type safty and the like,what I feel most excited about .net architecture is its simplicity,uniform programming model etc,but after I have some experience with .net and c# language,I feel pretty confused when I find out that in most cases,what I know about managed code is just something like a wrapper around the unmanaged code-for instance,com,win32 api etc.
       so my question arises now.I just wanna know whether or not it is a neccesity to learn com architecture,or win32 apis before I take on the managed code,bcos I've no experience working with com or activex components something like that.
       now,many people are talking about .net purity,and now what I wanna talk about .net programming purity,I hope all c9 guys here can lead me to the right programming direction.

• User profile image
    stevem

That's a good question. The answer is: it depends on what you're trying to do.

The .NET framework is a pretty powerful thing. There's a lot that can be done without ever having to P/Invoke to the Win32 API or interop with a COM object. My advice would be to spend your time learning the details of managed code and leave the other stuff until you need it.

I think it's important to have a general understanding of COM and the Win32 API, but it's important not to get bogged down in them. Should you know how COM objects are architected? Yes. Should you know what IID's, QueryInterface, and CoCreateInstanceEx are? Probably. Do you need to know the ins and outs of every last esoteric COM API in order to be an effective .NET developer? Almost certainly not.