Coffeehouse Thread

13 posts

I have a question about .vb files in C++ express 2010...

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    Digital​Master37

I am a fairly new programmer and I self teaching myself. I have come quite a ways, but still have a looong way to go of course. My question is regarding creating forms in visual C++ 2010. I am making a simple calculator, but once I double click one of the form objects, it takes me to the .h code rather than the .vb file, any help regarding this will be greatly appreciated. 

• User profile image
    c_str

You have the wrong Visual Studio Express, you want Visual Basic 2010 Express.  

• User profile image
    harlock123

Ummm I think you got the wrong version of express. You wanted the VB version not the C++ version... They are language specific forms of the full IDE that can switch between languages...

• User profile image
    harlock123

, c_str wrote

You have the wrong Visual Studio Express, you want Visual Basic 2010 Express.  

Doh! beat me to it...

• User profile image
    Digital​Master37

Oh I see, thanks a ton!

• User profile image
    Digital​Master37

Why is it this way. Why can't I do this in C++ express?

• User profile image
    spivonious

@DigitalMaster37: Because the Express versions are stripped down to focus on one language/type of application. If you want to do VB, you need VB Express. C# needs C# Express, C++ needs C++ Express, and ASP.NET needs WebDev Express.

• User profile image
    harlock123

I believe you can install more than one version in the same machine... At least I have C# express and VB express installed side by each in a VM here as a test... (I use VS 2010 ultimate for work though)

• User profile image
    Digital​Master37

I just installed VB, thanks to you all for the help. I was able to properly continue the program now. Thanks again!

• User profile image
    AndyC