Coffeehouse Thread

16 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Questions about purchasing VS2012

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    Kental2

Question for all you folks - the last version of VS I purchased was 2005 before I started moving to a lot of dynamic languages for development.  I've had my eye on getting back into ASP.NET and I am looking to purchase VS, but I'd really hate to shell out $500 for VS 2012 and then VS 2013 comes out a couple months later.  Does Microsoft typically provide an upgrade path for these kinds of scenarios, or am I better off waiting until the end of the year to grab VS 2013?

• User profile image
    DCMonkey

Why not Visual Studio 2012 Express Web?

• User profile image
    Kental2

I've been using VS2012 Express Web primarily for a few months, but we're going to be taking some sites live in the next little while and I want a commercial license for that.  In addition, some things I need like ability to use MySQL connector for some clients is going to become more urgent as time goes on.

• User profile image
    DCMonkey

The VS Express products can be used commercially, but if you need VS extension support ... yeah, you'll have to go with Pro.

Also, VS 2012 did not have an upgrade price from 2010. Instead, they lowered the price of VS 2012.

• User profile image
    Kental2

, DCMonkey wrote

[sic]

Also, VS 2012 did not have an upgrade price from 2010. Instead, they lowered the price of VS 2012.