Coffeehouse Post

Single Post Permalink

View Thread: When you install SP1 for VS 2008....
  • User profile image

    Yep. Let's not forget:

    NT 3.5 = kernel version 3.5

    NT 4 = kernel version 4

    Windows 2000= kernel version 5

    Windows XP = Kernel version 5.1 AND kernel version 5.2

    Windows Vista = Kernel version 6

    Windows 7 = Kernel version 6.1 (WTF OMG so retarded)

    Windows 8 = Kernel version 6.2

    I know they want to be all pure about their major numbers and whatever, but really they should just get over it. Windows7 is a major release different to Windows Vista, regardless of whether the NT people think it's a pretty minor change.

    There's also an app-compat thing going on as well: but frankly in this case I don't think that's a good enough excuse.